Wayne Joseph’s Blog

Running with the Big Dog

Big Island Cyclist Do Well on Oahu

181 cyclist start and only 150 finish

181 cyclist start and only 150 finish

Dick Evans Memorial Road Race    (112 miles around Oahu) from Sunday

 181 starters, 150 finishers 

Winner was Mike Zagorski (Oahu) in a time of 5:10:22

  Big Island Finishers.

 Kevin Murar (Kona) 8th 5 hours 11 minutes 12 seconds

Steve Lundblad 14th 5:14:07

Former Big Island resident Dan Miller 27th (also crashed during the race)

Richard Chamberlain 57th

Neil Erickson 85th (flat tire)

Ryan Mason 92nd (flat tire)

Gerry Hollins 118th (flat tire)

Leonard Bisel DNF (crash and unable to continue)

Russel_Kappius_cyclist“It was a tough day for Big Island cyclists with numerous flats and crashes.  Worst off was Leonard Bisel who crashed hard.  He suffered from some road rash and bruises, but his bike is  need of some serious repair,” Steve Lundblad said.


September 10, 2009 - Posted by | Cyclist | , , , , , , , ,


  1. Great to hear the Big Island made history on Oahu. I was trying to get over there but couldn’t get the day off. Maybe 2010.

    Comment by Joe Wedemann | September 10, 2009 | Reply

  2. Thanks for posting the results Wayne! FYI, I’m doing fine and am back riding again. We’ll get ’em next year!

    Comment by Leonard Bisel | September 11, 2009 | Reply

    • Leonard you are awesome! Nice having your niece run on the team at WHS.

      Comment by waynejoseph | September 11, 2009 | Reply

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: