Wayne Joseph’s Blog

Running with the Big Dog

Honokaa’s Mosch and Greenwell are BIIF Best at Kamehameha

Honokaa's Chris Mosch

Honokaa's Chris Mosch

     It was a beautiful day as Kamehameha hosted an Invitational Cross-Country Meet held this past Saturday at the Warriors Keaau Campus.  But the clear blue skies and elevated temperatures resulted in several severe cases of dehydration as trainers and paramedics were kept busy.

   In the boy’s varsity, 3-mile race, Honokaa’s Chris Mosch emerged from a strong field to win in a time of 17 minutes and 52 seconds.

   “I liked my chances going into today,” Mosch said after the race.  “I was thinking that if I could run a more even pace then I would have a chance of winning this one.”

   In last week’s race at Kealakehe it was Mosch finishing second overall to teammate Josh Robinson.  “I thought I went out a little too fast last week, so today I just hung with the pack for the first mile,” he said.

   Mosch stayed with Keaau’s Daniel Brooks, Makua Lani’s Dylan Hardie-Jordan and Hawaii Prep’s Tyler Tsubota through the first mile before increasing his stride tempo.

   “The first mile was a really slow pace and I was in a big back when I decided to push the pace and the one that come with me was Tyler (Tsubota),” Mosch said.

    “Tyler passed me at one point, during the downhill portion and once I got the lead back no one else challenged,” he said.

    With 150 yards to go it looked liked Hardie-Jordan would take second, but Brooks put on a tremendous kick to pass Hardie-Jordan and claim the runner-up spot in 18:01.

Daniel Brooks
Daniel Brooks

   “I had a game (football) last night which didn’t end until 11:30.  By the time I got home and had something to eat it was 1:30 in the morning,” Brooks said.

   Brooks played wide receiver on Friday night against Waiakea and scored on a 37 yard touchdown pass.  “My muscles were sore for the cross-country meet and I still feel a little tired,” he said.

“When I started my kick I felt good and realized that I had a lot left.  Next time I’m going to still try for the win,” Brooks said.

   Makua Lani’s Hardie-Jordan claimed third in 18:06 which was his best Big Island Interscholastic Federation finish in his three years running cross-country.  “I was hoping to get in the top five and I wanted to do the best that I could,” he said.

   “In the home stretch I was kind of out of it and I was just trying to follow the course line.  This course is my least favorite, but I had a good day running today.”

   In the boys team scoring it was Hilo High pulling out the team win (64 points) despite not having any of the individual front runners.

   In what was supposed to be a rebuilding year for the Vikings boys Coach Bill McMahon his youngsters are now looking at being a contender for the BIIF championships.  “My young, inexperienced athletes are beginning to bond,” McMahon said.

   “They (Hilo’s squad) are talking about how to get better to each other, each day.  They are understanding the concept that this is a team sport,” the Viking coach said.

   Keaau finished second to the Vikings in team scoring with 97 points followed by Honokaa with 103.

   For the varsity girls 3-miler it was a power team from California that ran away with the race.  The girls from Redlands, coached by Dr. Rod Anzai, dominated the race claiming the top four spots and winning the team title.

   Robyn Arnold, 18:57, Megan Crowley, 20:23, Anna Knight, 20:42, and Lauren Zabaleta, 20:46 took the top four individual spots for Redlands.

Tia Greenwell
Tia Greenwell

For the BIIF girls it was two time defending island champion, Honokaa’s Tia Greenwell, taking sixth overall in a time of 21 minutes 16 seconds.

   “I was satisfied with my finish today,” Greenwell said.  “I had hoped to break into the California’s team lineup and I did.”

   “I was on the mainland during the summer looking at possible colleges to attend, so I didn’t get much running in.  I’m still not where I’d like to be and I know I need more work, especially if I want to try to win the state title (Greenwell was state runner-up last year).

Kaitlyn Chock
Kaitlyn Chock

A pair of Waiakea harriers claimed the second and third BIIF finishes with Kaitlyn Chock (9th overall, 21:59) and Kelsie Kobayashi (11 overall, 22:14).

    “It was hot, but I ran better than I expected because I didn’t go out to hard in the beginning,” Chock said.  “Kelsie (Kobayashi) and I were running in a large pack of BIIF girls at the halfway point when we decided to push the pace.”

 

Kelsie Kobayashi
Kelsie Kobayashi

“I was surprised that the rest of the pack didn’t go with us at the midway point,” Kobayashi said.   “It was a really muddy, hot and humid day and this is not one of my favorite courses.”

   In the girls team standing it was Redlands winning with 17 points followed by Hawaii Baptist Academy and HPA each with 97 points.

    The BIIF cross-country season will get a bye next week before dividing into East, at Waiakea, and West, at Kohala, for a Sept. 26 meet.

September 12, 2009 - Posted by | Events, High School Runners, Running on the Big Island | , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

