Wayne Joseph’s Blog

Running with the Big Dog

Big Dog’s Girls Top 20 HHSAA cross country, predictions

 

Seabury Hall freshman sensation

BIG DOG’s Top 20 Girls in HHSAA Cross Country – Predictions

1)       Dakota Grossmann, Seabury Hall, freshman

2)      Elli Brady, Punahou, sophomore, defending HHSAA champ and dominate ILH runner

3)      Nadia Ramirez, Hilo, senior (out with season ending injury)

4)      Kela Vargas, Hawaii Prep, senior

5)      Heidi Nicholls, Hawaii Baptist, senior

6)      Breanne Ball, Iolani, junior

7)      Sophie Curatilo, Moanalua, senior

8)      Kimberly Pugliese, Mililani, senior

9)      Kyleigh Mann, Punahou, junior

10)  Jessica Johnson, Kamehameha-Oahu, senior

11)  Courtney Garner, Mililani

12)  Zoe Sims, Hawaii Prep, sophomore

13)  Julia Brand, Punahou, senior

14)  Melissa Wong, Punahou

15)  Lauren Spears, Island School

16)  Chylene Guinto, St. Francis

17)  Tialana Greenwell, Honokaa, senior, three time BIIF champ

18)  Maile Shigemasa, Pearl City

19)  Deylynn White, Kapolei, junior

20)  Kelsie Kobayashi, Waiakea, junior

 For the team title it should be Punahou running away from a strong challenge by HPA #2, and Mililani #3

October 13, 2010 - Posted by | High School Runners | , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Hi Big Dog,

    Thanks for updating your Top 20. I would like to add my observations/opinions as I follow the girls results closely. First, where is Nicholls form HBA? I would keep your top 2 as they are, then #3 Nicholls, #4 Mann, #5 Pugliese. Those are, in my opinion, the top 5 girls in the state and all of them are capabable of winning the State Title on October 28 at CORP.
    I know you support the Big Island but I count 6 girls from the Big Island in your Top 20, not sure that many will make it.
    I wish all the girls the best for the rest of the season and I’m sure that there will be some suprises as the season plays out.
    Anybody else have any ideas/opnions?

    Comment by Run 4 Fun | October 13, 2010 | Reply

    • Thanks for the reminder. I was in a rush when I posted this and had Heidi Nicholls on my list, but forgot to type her name in. I’ve made the correction, but I stongly believe that Ramirez will finish in the top three.

      Comment by waynejoseph | October 13, 2010 | Reply

  2. Coming from the OIA, I would probably switch the order of some of the OIA runners, but all in all, I would say that this is a pretty accurate prediction based on the performances thus far this season. I have been impressed by the caliber of athletes from the BIIF at States over the past few years, so I have no issue with the amount of Big Island runners in your prediction. The BIIF has some of the toughest courses in the state, so the times may not compare well with other leagues, but the few head to head competitions between these runners speak for themselves.

    Comment by 2leftfeet | October 13, 2010 | Reply

  3. With all the prelimnary racing done, will Big Dog make his final Top 10 and Top 3 team predictions?

    Comment by Run4Fun | October 27, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

