Wayne Joseph’s Blog

Running with the Big Dog

Deadline for nominations to the Big Island Hall of Fame July 15

The Big Island Sports Hall of Fame’s selection committee is currently seeking nominations for its 13th class of honorees.
To be considered for induction, written nominations and a color 8-by-10 inch photo are required and should include first and last names, mailing address and phone number, and the person’s achievement or contributions to the community for over 20 years.
The selection committee must receive a written nomination for the person to be officially considered. There is no exception to this requirement.
The late Jack Matsui is the founder of the Big Island Sports Hall of Fame, a nonprofit organization.
The mission of the Big Island Sports Hall of Fame is dedicated to honoring, preserving, and promoting knowledge of significant accomplishments in sports within the County of Hawaii.
Nominations for candidates to be inducted into the Big Island Sports Hall of Fame shall meet the following minimum qualifications:

• Have participated in a sport as an athlete, coach, official and supporter for a combination of at least 20 years.
• Have been a resident of the County of Hawaii for a minimum of five years of the time spent participating in the sport.
• Supporters and contributors shall have significantly impacted the sport being nominated for.
• Have exhibited strong character and discipline in the sport being nominated for. Conviction of any felony, crime of moral turpitude or official sanction by a governing body of the nominee’s sport during participation will automatically nullify his or her nomination and possible induction into the Hall of Fame.
Nominations for deceased athletes, coaches, officials and supporters may be submitted based on the individual’s past achievements and contributions.
Preference also shall be given to amateurs, volunteers, persons receiving token payments and semi-professional athletes, coach, officials and supporters that have not been previously inducted into other sports hall of fame organizations or honored in other traditional means of recognition for their individual contributions to the community, such as having had a sports facility named after the individual.
The deadline for nominees to be submitted is Friday, July 15. The selection committee will meet in on July 19 and review the list of potential inductees.
Members of the previous groups inducted can be seen at the Big Island Sports Hall of Fame display at the Prince Kuhio Plaza, inside the shopping center next to Macy’s Men’s Shop, across from IHOP restaurant.
Nominations should be sent to Derek Shigematsu, P.O. Box 1466, Honokaa, HI. 96727.  For additional information call Shigematsu at 315-1400.

Previous nominees who were not selected must resubmit to be considered.


July 2, 2011 Posted by | Events | , , , | 1 Comment

Hilo Drag Strip, Race Results

Big Island Auto Club Drag Race Results


8.90 index winner–Kiah Taroma (Hilo) in a digger (8.94 sec/147 mph); runner-up–David Francis (Paauilo) in a camaro (9.06/155).

9.90 index winner–Donnley Koga (Kurtistown) in a camaro (10.14/125); runner-up–Jonathan Santiago (Keaau) in a roadster (10.25/132).

11.90 index winner–Brad Miprano (Hilo) in a dodge pickup (11.83/111); runner-up–Jerry Andrade (Hilo) in a vega (11.58/110). Both drivers broke out of bracket, but Miprano broke out by the least and took the race.

12.90 index winner–Ian Bernard (Pahoa)) in a Toyota pickup (16.51 sec/67 mph); runner-up–Richard Souza (Naalehu) in a Chevy Bel Air (17.37/80).

Saturday Night Champion winner–Brad Miprano (Hilo) in a Dodge pickup (13.50/59); runner up–Donnley Koga (Kurtistown) in a Camaro (10.26/99, red-lighted).

Pro-Gas motorcycle winner–Bricen Baruela (Hilo) on a Suzuki (9.49/141); runner-up–Sheldon Asejo (Hilo) on a Suzuki (12.46/71).

Straycats motorsports events: Super Street winner–Brandon Koga (Hilo) in a Honda (10.92 /142); runner-up–Rob Gavel (Hilo) in a honda (13.06 sec/81 mph).

Outlaw race winner–Shane Kamahele (Hilo) in a Toyota (10.19/133); runner-up–Kimo Kamanu (Hilo) in a Honda (no time, red-lighted).

Super Comp winner–Rob Gavel (Hilo) in a Honda (13.55/107); runner-up–John Malson (Hilo) in a Honda (12.73/97). Gavel wins on a “hole shot”.

Sunday motorcycle bracket winner–Bricen Baruela (Hilo) on a Suzuki (10.55/91); runner-up–Sheldon Asejo (Hilo) on a Suzuki (20.22/32, mechanical problems).

Mega Bracket winner–prize money split between the two finalists–Shon Olivera (Hilo) in a Firebird and Jerry Andrade (Hilo) in a Vega.

Sports Compact winner–prize money split between the two finalists–Reid Kusano (Hilo) in a Honda and Ian Bernard (Pahoa) in a Toyota pickup.

Junior dragsters winner–no winner declared. Two finalists recognized–Pomai Rezentes (Hilo) and Caisey Francis (Paauilo).


July 2, 2011 Posted by | Drag Racing | , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment