Wayne Joseph’s Blog

Running with the Big Dog

The BIIF cross country IQ Quiz

Only those who properly identify these BIIF coaches may go on to take the BIIF IQ Quiz.



Good luck and no cheating                                                  BIIF Cross Country IQ Quiz

With the Big Island Interscholastic Federation cross country championships coming up this Saturday I’ve prepared a background check.

So if you think you know something about high school cross country on the Big Island take this rather, not so simple quiz.   To see the answers look in the comment section of this post.

1)      In what year did the BIIF have its first cross country championships?

2)      Hawaii Prep has won the most team championships for both boys and girls.  How many?

3)      Who won last year’s individual girl’s title?

4)      Who won last year’s individual boy’s title?

5)      Besides Tia Greenwell, name another girl that won three BIIF titles?

6)      There was only one tie in BIIF individual championship history; Can you name the year or individuals involved?

7)      St. Joseph has had one lone BIIF champ, can you name him?

8)       Parker has had one lone BIIF champ, can you name him?

9)      Who did Maromi Abe run for and in what year?

10)    Final question:  Waiakea won two boys team titles back to back in what years?


October 19, 2011 - Posted by | High School Runners, Running on the Big Island |


  1. Here are your answers: Person with the most correct answers wins a special Big Dog prize. Honor system please:

    Answers: 1) 1972 for boys and 1974 for girls
    2) 26 boys’ titles and 33 girl’s titles
    3) Keala Vargas, HPA and 4) Chris Mosch, Honokaa
    5) Malia Wall, HPA 1974, 75, 76
    6) 1982 – Chris Carswell from HPA and Scott Grinsteiner from Honokaa
    7) Stephen Stoat in 1979 8) Aaron Friend in 1988 and if you said Alistair In give yourself half a point because In should have won, but did not.
    9) She ran for Hilo in 1997
    10) Waiakea boys team titles came in 1978 and 1979

    Comment by waynejoseph | October 19, 2011 | Reply

    • I got 4 of the 6 coaches as i do not know the HPA coaches names. I got only 2 ot the 10 questions correct and only because some one told the answer to #10.

      Comment by JOrdan Rosado | October 20, 2011 | Reply

  2. Fun Quiz BigDog..I got 4 out of 6 coaches correct…Unfortunately for me
    I couldnt answer your 10 questions..Any body out there get them correct?

    Comment by Steve | October 19, 2011 | Reply

  3. Great historical information..
    Good job doing your research!
    Fun Quiz..

    Comment by Tina | October 19, 2011 | Reply

  4. I believe Casey McGuire-Turcotte also won three BIIF championships. One at Kau and two while at HPA. 94,95,96

    Comment by Tom | October 19, 2011 | Reply

    • Heather Onuma, HPA, won in 1994 – Casey won 95 and 96 only

      Comment by waynejoseph | October 19, 2011 | Reply

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: