Wayne Joseph’s Blog

Running with the Big Dog

Leaving an impression on others to stay Healthy and Fit

Aloha Mr. Joseph!Over the years, my husband and I have enjoyed reading your articles in the Tribune Herald.  Upon reading yesterday’s paper (11/26/12), it was put upon my heart to tell you how you have impacted my family.Back in high school (1986), I ran cross-country.  I wasn’t very good, and actually came in dead last in a meet once!  But, I enjoyed the camaraderie, being outside, and taking in the fresh air.  The years have flown by since then, and running fell by the wayside.Within the past couple of years, I have made a semi-regular effort to exercise, including jogging.  Last year, my 17 year old daughter suggested that we run the Veteran’s Day 5k.  Since mother/daughter time is rare, I bared the cold and rain and headed to Coconut Island with her.  It was our very first 5k, and we created some great memories!  She has since gone off to Colorado for college.This year I decided to do it again, and to my surprise, my husband decided to join me!  He is 55 years old and has always stated that he hates to run, but he actually ran most of the way!  He ran in honor of his father, George Inouye, veteran of the 100th Battalion.  It was a very touching tribute. 

In addition, we also ran the 5k on Thanksgiving!  We appear to be adjusting to our empty nest a lot better than I had imagined.

I wanted to share this with you because if it weren’t for your passion for running and your compassion for others, my family would have never become involved with these events – we would have been too intimidated!  Your name is synonymous with running on the Big Island, but it is your smile and heart that inspires us most.  We came out not only to run, but also to show our support for the Big Dog.

Mahalo nui loa,      Lisa & Eric

November 28, 2012 - Posted by | Health and Fitness, Running on the Big Island |

4 Comments »

  1. What a wonderful letter to receive. So nice that they took the time to let you know how much you do for others. I know there are many many others that have been inspired by the BigDog. High School to Seniors have all been touched by this amazing man so have I.

    Thank you Sweetheart. You are my HERO today, tomorrow and forever!
    RJ

    Comment by RAJ | November 28, 2012 | Reply

  2. Big Dog,

    What a tribute to you. Inspiring people to change their lives is awesome! I salute you, sir!

    Comment by Frank Pugliese | November 28, 2012 | Reply

  3. A very nice letter!

    Comment by Jaclynn | November 28, 2012 | Reply

  4. Hi Big Dog!
    What a pleasure it was to run with Lisa’s husband, Eric..I was hoping I wasn’t that intimidating for it was indeed such a fun run honoring you as well as all the Vets that served our country-bitter sweet for me for the nite before he met my son and his
    family—I’m sure Eric and Lisa will be out there and they’ll never forget their first run, inspired by you—Marie…

    Comment by Marie Kuramoto | November 29, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

