Wayne Joseph’s Blog

Running with the Big Dog

Big Dog’s Girls Preseaon X-C Favorites for 2010

Punahou's Elli Brady

Cross-country season is about to start with many of the schools around the state beginning to practice starting on August 2nd.

Based on last season state championship results the Big Dog predicts the following top girls in the state:

Elli Brady, Punahou, sophomore, will repeat as state champion and dominate the ILH

Gabriella Jenkins, Mililani, junior, state runner-up and OIA champ (moved out of state)

Kimberly Pugliese, Mililani, senior, third in state

Sophie Curatilo, Moanalua, senior

Tialana Greenwell, Honokaa, senior, dominate runner in BIIF

Jessica Johnson, Kamehameha-Kapalama, senior

Kyleigh Mann, Punahou, junior

Julia Brand, Punahou, senior

Kela Vargas, Hawaii Prep, senior

Breanne Ball, Iolani, junior

Others to watch:  Kelsey Waters, Leilehua(moved out of state); Emily Evans, HPA; Kelsie Kobayashi, Waiakea; Amanda Ishikawa, Mid Pac; Chaylene Guinto, St Francis; Jessica Kafer, Radford (moved out of state); Jaime Durso, Punahou; and some of the incoming freshmen.

For the team championship it should be Punahou and Mililani battling it out again with Punahou coming out on top.  Boys top picks will be in tomorrows blog.   https://waynejoseph.wordpress.com/2010/07/30/big-dogs-boys-preseaon-x-c-favorites-for-2010/


July 29, 2010 Posted by | High School Runners | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 9 Comments

Big Dog’s Picks for HHSAA Cross-Country 11-20

Tyler Tsubota

HPA's Tyler Tsubota picked at #13

Big Dog’s picks for HHSAA cross-country in the second tier, 11-20.  To see the picks for the top 10 go to:   https://waynejoseph.wordpress.com/2009/10/25/big-dogs-final-hhsaa-top-10-cross-country-runners/


11.  Dylan Hardie-Jordan, Makua Lani

12.  Rocky Balala, Maui

13.  Tyler Tsubota, HPA

14.  Jordan Kahawai, Kamehameha-Oahu

15.  Daniel Brooks, Keaau

16.  Colin Honeker, Aiea

17.  Ian Terayama, Punahou

18.  Ryan Hobson, Mid Pacific

19.  Joshua Robinson, Honokaa

20.  Alvin Ringor, Molokai


11.  Kaitlyn Chock, Waiakea

12.  Amanda Ishikawa, Mid Pacific

13.  Jessica Johnson, Kamehameha-Oahu

14.  Zoe Sims, HPA

15.   Emily Evans, HPA

16.  Shannon Whener, Maui

17.  Kelli Morrissey, Iolani

18.  Kelsie Kobayashi, Waiakea

19.  Tia Nakashima, Hawaii Baptist

20.  Sophie Curatilo, Moanalua

October 29, 2009 Posted by | High School Runners | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment