Wayne Joseph’s Blog

Running with the Big Dog

Big Island Sports Hall of Fame induction set for August 21

12th induction class of 2010 – Harold “Russian” Furtado, Hamilton Manley, Mo Mathews, Richard Nakano, Bo Saiki, Manny Veincent, Ruth Walker


The Big Island Sports Hall of Fame announced the inductees for the 13th class into the Wall of Fame.

Selected were:

Sam Alameda, Sr. – basketball and Manager of the Waiakea Boxing Club

Dennis Asuncion (deceased) – Boxing, Coach and Official

Olizario Galo Fernandez – Basketball, Baseball and Coach

Robert Fitzgerald – Football and Baseball

Charles Ikeda – Basketball, Coach and Recreational Leader for Youth Organizations

John Clifford Kekua, Jr. (deceased) Canoe Paddling and Coach

Stephen L. Perry – Athletic Director, Coach, State Athletic Golf Coordinator

The BIGHF selection committee chair, Derek Shigematsu, announced the selections on Tuesday.

“We had many fine nominees who had years of community involvement in their respective sports,” Shigematsu said.  “It was a difficult decision.”

The BISHF will have a ceremony at the Wall of Fame at the Prince Kuhio Mall on August 21 at 10:30 am.

“We will introduce the seven and display their photos to the wall,” Shigematsu said.  “We are hoping past inductees and the general public will come out to support the newly inducted honorees.”

Following the Wall dedication the ceremony will move to a luncheon at the Nani Mau Gardens at noon were a formal ceremony will take place.

For those interested in attending the luncheon the cost is $20 for adults and $15 for children 10 and under

Seating is limited to 125 people and as of August 6 sixty percent of the tickets have been sold.

Tickets may only be purchased in advance by calling Ellsworth Fontes at 935-5519.

The late Jack Matsui was the founder of the Big Island Sports Hall of Fame.





August 15, 2011 Posted by | Events | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

BIIF Softball All-League Teams Announced

Honokaa catcher, Huali Alpiche, West All-League Selection

2010 BIIF Girls Softball All-League Teams


Co-Players of the Year: Staysha Galigo, Konawaena; Krystina Okimura, Konawaena

Coach of the Year: Wesley Takimoto, Kealakehe

All-League team

First base Jaycielyn Huddy-Mendoza Honokaa

Second Kau’i Kanekao Honokaa

Second* Staysha Galigo Konawaena

Third Rachel Omija Konawaena

Shortstop Stacie Doi Hawaii Prep

Pitcher Chelsea Requelman Honokaa

Catcher Huali Alpiche Honokaa

Outfield Taylor Salgado-Ganagan Honokaa

Outfield Krystina Okimura Konawaena

Outfield Saxon Nagata Konawaena

Utility Gabby Menendez Hawaii Prep

Honorable Mention: Camille Kiyota, Hawaii Prep; Ashley Isisaki, Kihani Palmer-Kahananui, Kealakehe; Noe Aiona, Tahjra Alcoran, Sheana Cazimero, Paea Holschuh, Kapoe Lewis, Britney Torres, Kohala; Chelsea Shimamoto, Konawaena


Player of the Year: Zaylyne “Alohi” Vincent, Hilo

Coach of the Year: Bo Saiki, Waiakea

All-League team

First base Kiani Matsumoto Kamehameha

Second Kamie Imai Waiakea

Third Malania Esoroma Waiakea

Shortstop Alohi Vincent Hilo

Pitcher Kiana Wong Kamehameha

Catcher Kiah Taroma Waiakea

Outfield Tisha Piilani-Pelanca Hilo

Outfield Melia Taganas Kamehameha

Outfield Emily Kahookaulana-Sulprizio Pahoa

Utility Chelsey Pacatang-Hirai Keaau

Honorable Mention: Rebecca Aiona, Tracee Fukunaga, Taryn Yokota, Ashley Kaneshiro, Fantacie Keahilibian-Kuomoo, Tiana Cadabona, Alixis Gonzales, Hilo; Jennifer Cameros, Deidre Kalani, Kaala Ahu, Kau-Amery Silva, Pua Kailiawa, Kamehameha-Hawaii; Christina Pilayo, Pahoa-Vaaigaomata Wilson, Shayanne Acia, Keaau; Skyler Agrigado, Sloane Thomas, Tiffany Anzai, Kiersa Pakani-Tsuriyama, Chelsea Camello, Waiakea

May 13, 2010 Posted by | softball | , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment