Wayne Joseph’s Blog

Running with the Big Dog

Big Island Cyclist Do Well on Oahu

181 cyclist start and only 150 finish

181 cyclist start and only 150 finish

Dick Evans Memorial Road Race    (112 miles around Oahu) from Sunday

 181 starters, 150 finishers 

Winner was Mike Zagorski (Oahu) in a time of 5:10:22

  Big Island Finishers.

 Kevin Murar (Kona) 8th 5 hours 11 minutes 12 seconds

Steve Lundblad 14th 5:14:07

Former Big Island resident Dan Miller 27th (also crashed during the race)

Richard Chamberlain 57th

Neil Erickson 85th (flat tire)

Ryan Mason 92nd (flat tire)

Gerry Hollins 118th (flat tire)

Leonard Bisel DNF (crash and unable to continue)

Russel_Kappius_cyclist“It was a tough day for Big Island cyclists with numerous flats and crashes.  Worst off was Leonard Bisel who crashed hard.  He suffered from some road rash and bruises, but his bike is  need of some serious repair,” Steve Lundblad said.


September 10, 2009 Posted by | Cyclist | , , , , , , , , | 3 Comments