Wayne Joseph’s Blog

Running with the Big Dog

Big Island Auto Club July 2012 Points Meet Results

BIAC July Points Meet results

The Big Island Auto Club Points Meet was held July 14-15 at the Hilo Drag Strip. Results follow:

Saturday pro-gas events

7.90 index winner: Buddy Loeffler (Mt. View) in a Cavalier (8.13 sec/147 mph); runner-up, Augie Taroma (Hilo) in a Camaro (8.54 sec/142 mph).

• 8.90 index winner: Dean Kalawe (Keaau) in a S-10 pickup (8.96 sec/130 mph); runner-up, Barry Mizuno (Hilo) in a ‘55 Chevy Bel-Air (9.05 ec/150 mph).

9.90 index winner: Jonathan Santiago (Keaau) in a roadster (10.17 sec/112 mph). Santiago wins on a hole shot; runner-up, Bear Barrilleux (Hilo) in a VW Bug (10.17 sec/112 mph).

10.90 index winner: Chad Fiesta (Pepeekeo) in a Nova (11.80 sec/ 119 mph); runner-up, Richard Hill (Hilo) in a Camaro (red light time of 14.07 sec/ 66 mph).

11.90 index winner: Kaike DePonte (Keaau) in a Camaro (12.01 sec/114 mph); runner-up, David Crowl (Keaau) in a Nova (12.64 sec/119 mph).

12.90 index winner: Chris Mulliken (Volcano) in a Honda (13.15 sec/85 mph); runner-up, Gary Prose (Hilo) in a Mazda pickup (13.78 sec/103 mph).

Sunday Bracket race events

Junior Dragster winner: Caisey Francis (Paauilo), 12.47 sec/62 mph; runner-up, Kaimi Francis (Hilo), mechanical failure on starting line.

Sports Compact Bracket winner: Ian Bernard (Pahoa) in a Honda (19.28 sec/72 mph); runner-up, Chris Mulliken (Volcano), 13.92 sec/103 mph. Bernard wins on a hole shot and better reaction time.

Mega Bracket winner: Rain ended the race before the final run was made. Earnings split between Davy Watanabe (Hilo) in a Chevelle and Paul Crivello (Hilo) in a digger (rail).

• Closest to the dial-in for Saturday: Chad Fiesta (Pepeekeo) in a Nova, running a 10.92 second run in the 10.90 index.

• Closest to the dial in for Sunday: Ian Bernard (Pahoa) in a Honda, running a 19.6 second run in the sports compact bracket race.

• Best reaction time for Saturday: Kaike DePonte (Keaau) in a Camaro, 0.01 seconds.

• Best reaction time for Sunday: Buddy Loeffler (Mt. View) in a Cavalier, 0.007 seconds.

• Next race: The August Points Meet, Aug. 4-5 at the Hilo Drag Strip.


July 19, 2012 Posted by | Drag Racing | , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Hilo Drag Racing – Full Results from Saturday, Aug 6

The Big Island Auto Club held pro gas events Saturday at Hilo Drag Strip, but rain canceled Sunday’s pro gas events.

8.90 index   Winner — David Francis (Paauilo) in a Camaro (8.98 seconds/154 mph).

Runner-up — Gary De Rego (Honokaa) in a Nova (9.27/144).

9.90   Winner — Donnley Koga (Kurtistown) in a Camaro (9.99/132).

Runner-up — Jonathan Santiago (Keaau) in a Roadster (10.24/131).

10.90   Winner — Chad Fiesta (Pepeekeo) in a Nova (10.94/132).

Runner-up– George Berdon (Kailua-Kona) in a VW (mechanical problem on the starting line; did not complete race).

11.90   Winner — Brad Miprano (Hilo) in Dodge pickup truck (11.85/112).

Runner-up — Jerry Andrade (Hilo) in a Vega station wagon (11.79/107)

12.90   Winner — Wayne Costa Jr. (Pahoa) in a Honda (13.38/95).

Runner-up — Ian Bernard (Papaikou) in a Nova (13.82/94).

Pro-gas motorcycle   Winner – Reggie Leite (Hilo) on a Yamaha (8.84/152).

Runner-up – Bricen Baruela (Hilo) on a Yamaha (10.44/120).

Stray Kats    Motorsports competition

Outlaw   Winner — Shane Kamahele (Hilo) in a Toyota (10.71/131).

Runner-up — Donn Pinnow (Hilo) in a Honda (36.77/16 mph; mechanical problems).

Superstreet   Winner — Michael Okumura (Pahala) in a Honda (12.37/114).

Runner-up — Rob Gavel (Hilo) in a Honda (12.48/108).

Supercomp   Winner — Michael Okumura (Pahala) in a Honda (14.23/69).

Runner-up — Rob Gavel (Hilo) in a Honda (18.64/59; lost on a red light).

Closest to dial in: Chad Fiesta (Pepeekeo) in a Nova (10.94).

Best reaction time: Gary De Rego (Honokaa) in a Nova (0.073).

Next races: Labor Day Drags, Sept. 3-4 at Hilo Drag Strip.

August 11, 2011 Posted by | Drag Racing | , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment